Books of the month

Could you and your friends change the world? This book will inspire you with 15 true stories of groups of amazing humans who’ve changed the world.

Discover the astonishing things humans can achieve: from the campaign for women’s votes to the efforts to heal the ozone layer. Or travel back to the start of democracy in Ancient Greece, and into space to see the incredible teamwork on the international space station.

Above all, uncover just some of the MANY ways we can work together to change our world – all brought to life with astonishing storytelling and illustration.

How To Change The World, Rashmi Sirdeshpande and illustrated by Annabel Tempest

Could you and your friends change the world? This book will inspire you with 15 true stories of groups of amazing humans who've changed the world.

Me, My Dad and the End of the Rainbow, Benjamin Dean

The rainbow-filled, JOYOUS debut from a hugely exciting new talent. Perfect for 9+ readers and fans of Lisa Thompson, Elle McNicoll and Onjali Rauf's bestselling THE BOY AT THE BACK OF THE CLASS.

The Gilded Ones, Namina Forna

The start of a bold and immersive fantasy series for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther.

Open Water, Caleb Azumah Nelson

At once an achingly beautiful love story and a potent insight into race and masculinity, Open Water asks what it means to be a person in a world that sees you only as a Black body, to be vulnerable when you are only respected for strength, to find safety in love, only to lose it. With gorgeous, soulful intensity, Caleb Azumah Nelson has written the most essential British debut of recent years.

The Humiliations of Welton Blake, Alex Wheatle

Hilarity follows disaster in this sharp-witted tale of the trials of teen life from award-winning author Alex Wheatle.

Concrete Rose, Angie Thomas

From international phenomenon Angie Thomas comes a hard-hitting return to Garden Heights with the story of Maverick Carter, Starr's father, set seventeen years before the events of the award-winning The Hate U Give .

Luster, Raven Leilani

Razor sharp, provocatively page-turning and surprisingly tender, Luster by Raven Leilani is a painfully funny debut about what it means to be young now.

We Are All Birds of Uganda, Hafsa Zayyan

Moving between two continents over a troubled century, We Are All Birds of Uganda is an immensely resonant novel that explores racial tensions, generational divides and what it means to belong.

The Night Bus Hero, Onjali Q. Rauf

Told from the perspective of a bully, this book explores themes of bullying and homelessness, while celebrating kindness, friendship and the potential everyone has to change for the good.

I Am… Short Stories

Casey Elisha Books presents I Am... Short Stories, a collection of stories written by 9 - 18-year-olds that reflect who they are, their realities, their life experiences and their beliefs.

Long Way Down: The Graphic Novel, Jason Reynolds and Danica Novgorodoff

This haunting, lyrical, powerful verse novel will blow you away.

home body, Rupi Kaur

home body is a collection of raw, honest conversations with oneself – reminding readers to fill up on love, acceptance, community, family, and embrace change.

When Life Gives You Mangoes, Kereen Getten

For fans of deeply poignant middle grade about friendship and loss like The Thing About Jellyfish, comes the story about a young girl who can't remember anything from her previous summer after a hurricane.

The Girl and the Goddess, Nikita Gill

Lyrical wonder, spiritual revelation and revolution meet with epic mythical landscapes in this deeply intimate coming-of-age story, one that teaches us all, no matter how small we feel, to become the masters of our own destiny.

Loud Black Girls: 20 Black Women Ask: What’s Next, Yomi Adegoke and Elizabeth Uviebinene

An important and timely anthology of Black British writing, edited and curated by the authors of the highly acclaimed, ground-breaking Slay In Your Lane. Slay in Your Lane Presents: Loud Black Girls features essays from the diverse voices of twenty established and emerging Black British writers.

This Mournable Body, Tsitsi Dangarembga

In this tense and psychologically charged novel, Tsitsi Dangarembga channels the hope and potential of one young girl and a fledgling nation to lead us on a journey to discover where lives go after hope has departed.