Books of the month

Are you sick of being utterly adorable? Tired of being cuddled and hugged? Fed up of having your head confused for your bottom because you just so happen to be SOOOOPER-DOOOOOPER fluffy?

Lin: If you answered yes to any of those questions, then you’re in the right book.

Everyone thinks that Lin is the cutest panda in the world. So much so that they ship her off to the local zoo, away from her beloved brother, to be ogled at by the masses. But Lin HATES being cute, and now she will do everything in her power to prove that she’s the baddest, meanest, most un-cute animal in the zoo.

Laugh-yourself-out-of-bed hilarious, the first in a new series from the creators of Dave Pigeon.

Bad Panda by Swapna Haddow and Sheena Dempsy

Are you sick of being utterly adorable? Tired of being cuddled and hugged? Fed up of having your head confused for your bottom because you just so happen to be SOOOOPER-DOOOOOPER fluffy? Lin: If you answered yes to any of those questions, then you're in the right book.

Blackout

'Blackout is our love letter to love, to New York City, and to Black teens. Our reminder to them that their stories, their joy, their love is valid and worthy of being spotlighted.' - Dhonielle Clayton

Teeth In the Back of My Neck, Monika Radojevic

An arresting debut collection about identity, ancestry and history, from a young poet selected as an inaugural winner of the #Merky Books New Writers' Prize, dedicated to discovering the best writers of a new generation.

Sankofa, Chibundu Onuzo

A funny, gripping and surprising story of a mixed-race British woman who goes in search of the West African father she never knew, by award-winning author Chibundu Onuzo.

Jaz Santos vs. the World – The Dream Team, Priscilla Mante

Ola! I'm Jasmina Santos-Campbell (but you can call me Jaz). You've probably heard of me and my football team the Bramrock Stars before. No? Well, you will soon because we're almost famous!

A Glasshouse of Stars, Shirley Marr

Meixing Lim and her family have arrived in the New Land to begin a New Life.

Musical Truth: A Musical History of Modern Black Britain in 28 Songs, Jeffrey Boakye and Ngadi Smart

Music can carry the stories of history like a message in a bottle. Lord Kitchener, Neneh Cherry, Smiley Culture and Stormzy.

The Other Black Girl, Zakiya Dalila Harris

Get Out meets The Devil Wears Prada in this electric debut about the tension that unfurls when two young Black women meet against the starkly white backdrop of book publishing.

How To Change The World, Rashmi Sirdeshpande and illustrated by Annabel Tempest

Could you and your friends change the world? This book will inspire you with 15 true stories of groups of amazing humans who've changed the world.

Me, My Dad and the End of the Rainbow, Benjamin Dean

The rainbow-filled, JOYOUS debut from a hugely exciting new talent. Perfect for 9+ readers and fans of Lisa Thompson, Elle McNicoll and Onjali Rauf's bestselling THE BOY AT THE BACK OF THE CLASS.

The Gilded Ones, Namina Forna

The start of a bold and immersive fantasy series for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther.

Open Water, Caleb Azumah Nelson

At once an achingly beautiful love story and a potent insight into race and masculinity, Open Water asks what it means to be a person in a world that sees you only as a Black body, to be vulnerable when you are only respected for strength, to find safety in love, only to lose it. With gorgeous, soulful intensity, Caleb Azumah Nelson has written the most essential British debut of recent years.

The Humiliations of Welton Blake, Alex Wheatle

Hilarity follows disaster in this sharp-witted tale of the trials of teen life from award-winning author Alex Wheatle.

Concrete Rose, Angie Thomas

From international phenomenon Angie Thomas comes a hard-hitting return to Garden Heights with the story of Maverick Carter, Starr's father, set seventeen years before the events of the award-winning The Hate U Give .

Luster, Raven Leilani

Razor sharp, provocatively page-turning and surprisingly tender, Luster by Raven Leilani is a painfully funny debut about what it means to be young now.

We Are All Birds of Uganda, Hafsa Zayyan

Moving between two continents over a troubled century, We Are All Birds of Uganda is an immensely resonant novel that explores racial tensions, generational divides and what it means to belong.

The Night Bus Hero, Onjali Q. Rauf

Told from the perspective of a bully, this book explores themes of bullying and homelessness, while celebrating kindness, friendship and the potential everyone has to change for the good.

I Am… Short Stories

Casey Elisha Books presents I Am... Short Stories, a collection of stories written by 9 - 18-year-olds that reflect who they are, their realities, their life experiences and their beliefs.

Long Way Down: The Graphic Novel, Jason Reynolds and Danica Novgorodoff

This haunting, lyrical, powerful verse novel will blow you away.

home body, Rupi Kaur

home body is a collection of raw, honest conversations with oneself – reminding readers to fill up on love, acceptance, community, family, and embrace change.

When Life Gives You Mangoes, Kereen Getten

For fans of deeply poignant middle grade about friendship and loss like The Thing About Jellyfish, comes the story about a young girl who can't remember anything from her previous summer after a hurricane.

The Girl and the Goddess, Nikita Gill

Lyrical wonder, spiritual revelation and revolution meet with epic mythical landscapes in this deeply intimate coming-of-age story, one that teaches us all, no matter how small we feel, to become the masters of our own destiny.

Loud Black Girls: 20 Black Women Ask: What’s Next, Yomi Adegoke and Elizabeth Uviebinene

An important and timely anthology of Black British writing, edited and curated by the authors of the highly acclaimed, ground-breaking Slay In Your Lane. Slay in Your Lane Presents: Loud Black Girls features essays from the diverse voices of twenty established and emerging Black British writers.

This Mournable Body, Tsitsi Dangarembga

In this tense and psychologically charged novel, Tsitsi Dangarembga channels the hope and potential of one young girl and a fledgling nation to lead us on a journey to discover where lives go after hope has departed.